The 2014 Clara Wells Scholarship Biennial Auditions
First Prize - $2,000
Second Prize - $1,500

Competition to be held at the 2014 Matthay Piano Festival at

Texas Wesleyan University  
Fort Worth, Texas
June 18, 2014


    1.    This competition is open to U. S. citizens and pianists currently studying in the United States, age 25 or younger as of July 1, 2014.    
    2.    Finalists will be chosen from CD recordings, and will perform live in Fort Worth. All finalists will perform from memory. 
    3.    Pianists will be judged by a panel selected by the American Matthay Association for Piano (AMAP).  
    4.    Selection as a finalist carries a waiver of tuition to the 2014 American Matthay Piano Festival. Travel expenses, however, must be met by each individual.  
    5.    Clara Wells Prize winners will be required to participate in a master class at the Festival held on the day following the competition.
    6.    In pursuance of the goals of the American Matthay Association to further the teachings of Tobias Matthay, Clara Wells Prize winners 
           will also receive complimentary copies of the recently published England's Piano Sage: The Life and Teachings of Tobias Matthay (Scarecrow, 2012), 
           and a complete set of all available volumes of the APR Record CD series devoted to "The Matthay Pupils."   (As the set is issued in periodic installments, 
           this prize will be limited to the volumes available by the date of the Auditions.)

               Repertoire Requirements:

    1.   Four pieces representing four of the following historical periods: 
             Baroque, Classical, Romantic, Impressionistic, and Contemporary. 
    2.   The complete repertoire must be at least 30 minutes in duration. 
    3.   Individual, or selected, movements of works are acceptable. 
    4.   A transcription may not be used to fulfill the Baroque requirement. 
    5.   One of the pieces must come from the following list.  This  piece must be used to satisfy the requirement from the 
          historical period of the piece.  The Mozart works are from the Classical period, the Debussy works are from 
          the Impressionist period, and the other works are from the Romantic period.
               Mozart: Adagio in B minor, K. 540
                Mozart: Rondo in A minor, K. 511
                Schumann: Des Abends from Fantasiestücke, op. 12 
                Schumann: F-sharp Romance, op. 28, no. 2
                Brahms: Any Intermezzo from op. 117 
                Brahms: Intermezzo in A, op. 118, no. 2            
                Brahms: Intermezzo in B minor, op. 119, no. 1
                Debussy: Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir, Preludes, Bk. I
                Debussy: Des pas sur la neige, Preludes, Bk. I
                Granados: "The Maiden and the Nightingale," from Goyescas 
                Rachmaninoff: Prelude in E-flat, op. 23, no. 6
                Rachmaninoff: Etude-tableau in A minor, op. 39, no. 2

                 Entrance Procedure: 

     1.   All applicants must submit the following materials in a single mailing:
            a) One high-quality unedited  CD of the above four works; 
            b) A copy of the entrant's passport or birth certificate;
            c) Four copies of a sheet listing the repertoire submitted on the CD.  NOTE: This page should not include any information about the applicant; 
            d) A page listing the name, age, mailing address, e-mail address, telephone/cell phone number, and the name and address of applicant's private teacher; 
            e) Registration fee of $20, non-refundable. Make check payable to A.M.A.P. 

    2.   The above material must be postmarked on or before April 18, 2014. Incomplete application materials will be rejected.

    3.   Applicants will be notified of acceptance or rejection by e-mail. 

    Mail Entrance Materials to: 

	Dr. Mary Pendleton Hoffer
	405 E. Hermosa Circle
	Tempe, AZ 85282


    1.    No exceptions will be permitted to the age limit.
    2.     A previous winner may renew his
           or her award once, but in order to do so, he/she must re-enter according to the
           rules listed here, using all new repertoire. Persons who have received awards in two 
           Clara Wells Auditions may not re-enter.
    3.     The judges reserve the right to withhold awards.   
    4.    Use of monies: Awards are for study with an active member of the American
           Matthay Association for Piano. $500 of of a winner’s prize money may be used to offset lodging
          and transportation expenses. Receipts for these expenses should be submitted 
           to the Treasurer of the Association.
    5.    If a winner does not claim his/her award, the AMAP will hold it in
           trust for a period of 2 years.  At the end of that time, if the student
           has failed to initiate (or to further) study with a Matthay teacher the
           award will be forfeited.

Return to opening page